Earthquakes, Scotties Crafts and Scrappin Patch.

Its been awhile.  Yes I realise I am stating the obvious lol! – when I actually went back to see just how long it had been since I blogged I was shocked to see it had been two months!  to be honest I find it a bit of a chore, its not something I particularly enjoy, blathering on about the probably mundane things going on in my wee life, but I do like to share what I ve been busy trying to create.  Maybe I should try to emulate Trace and blog on a certain day of the week.

So, theres been quite a bit going on in our wee corner of the universe.  Theres been one humdinger of an earthquake, quite old news by now I know, but still it goes on.  I drove down Montreal Street the other day, the first time I had been down through the small part of the CBD that is now opened. I got quite a shock.  Its one thing seeing it on the television, but its a whole nother ball game in real life.  History is one of my favourite things, and seeing some of our heritage buildings hanging on by a thread and others already bulldozed including some of my favourites, is so sad.  Our city is going to be forever changed, and thats sad but I think in some respects its also a good thing.  The CBD had lost a lot of foot traffic to the malls, so maybe with the rebuilding people will return – I can’t imagine there would be many high rise buildings though!

We were quite lucky.  We had very little damage, and because we live just out of Christchurch, we had power, water and sewage back on very quickly and being on a different supply, theres been no issues with any of it.  I feel incredibly lucky.

Out of all the photos that are out there, there is one that really grabbed my attention, and its this one, taken at the time of the quake from the top of the Port Hills.

Scotties Crafts

Just after the quake, I received an email from Bev at Scotties Crafts letting me know I was the guest designer for them for the months of Feb/March.  At the time I was not feeling in the least bit creative, but as it turned out, it was a great way to think about something else instead of earthquakes.  The kit I was sent was a collection of Prima’s new release, Sparkling Spring, with a few other pieces.  I created five layouts for them and Im pretty stoked with how they turned out.  Its a wonderful online and  physical shop in Auckland, with all your favourite brands, so go check it out!

Charlotte’s birthday

My friend Andrea’s wee girl has just had her third birthday.  Each year she gets to wear the cutest little outfit, and this year it was Tinkerbell.  Lucky for me I just happened to have a piece of paper with tinkerbell on it, so I used it make her birthday card.  Charlottes also just started ballet, so I bought her a new pink tutu and popped it inside a handbag I decorated for her.  Pink of course! 

Scrappin Patch

Ive been designing a few things for the lovely Adrienne at Scrappin Patch.  Heres a few of them, the first are using Websters Pages, Sweet Season and a range from a company I had’nt seen before called Paper Loft.  The last two are made using Saviour from Little Yellow Bicycle.

Time I got some other things done before I go to work today – I promise I won’t be so long between posts this time!

3 Comments

  1. Rebecca
    Posted May 13 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    Very noice as always and yes you need to blog more oftern how else are we meant to get inspiration

  2. Posted May 22 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    HI there! Was great to meet you yesterday. Loved the stuff you were working on. Good luck 😉

  3. Posted May 26 at 10:11 pm | Permalink

    Fabulous pages and creations! Love those ones about Grace, the masterchef one is awesome 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*